a town called E.

By Eej

A Flicker at the Feeder



I realise that my ornithological interest is not for everyone. I realise some people don't like birds. Or are phobic. Or just find them uninteresting. And I understand that. I do.

BUT I SAW A YELLOWSHAFTED MALE* FLICKER IN THE BACKYARD TODAY AND I'M WAY EXCITED! :)


It all started when I heard a bloodcurling screech. I jumped up from my chair (I was outside in 'my spot'), thinking of all the horrors I could be encountering because good gawd what creature sounds like it's being strangled unless it's actually being strangled?
Well, the only thing I saw move was a bird in the tree. I thought it was a red-bellied woodpecker at first. But then it hopped on the grass and started bouncing around, towards me. Uhm. Hello? Then it hopped on the raised bed, and up to the birdbath where it sat, not at all phased by my presence (and subsequent clicking) and drank. Lalalalala. Then it flew on the fence. Lalalalala. Pooped a genuine 'thank you' at me, and flew off.
And all that time I was thinking: "What the hell is this bird? It's the blingest bird I've ever seen. Look at all those spots. And half-spots. And the red crown. It's the Liberace of the Bird World!"
And then I went inside and looked it up :)


The Beloved: "Are you going to Blip before we go?" (for groceries)
Me: "YEAH! Nothing is going to be more exciting than this!"


*it has a moustache an'all. Hawtness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.