Adam's Images

By ajt

Red Campion

It's Friday!

Work was work, nothing exciting. We did have a fire alarm and we had to evacuate the building. I'm a Fire Marshall so I got to tell off a senior bod for taking a drink with him which is a serious no no!

On the way home the rain held off and I went for a wander in Little Meadow. I tried to capture a half decent shot of some of the roses we have planted there. They are all wild varieties and have very simple flowers, nothing like the cultivated versions of the garden. We had quite a few cleavers making a pest of themselves so I pulled them out of the rose patch and when I went to compost them I spotted a clump of brilliant red campion (Silene dioica) that was glinting in the afternoon sun. I took a few pictures then headed home.

After importing them into GIMP and with a bit of cropping and level balancing this red campion just won over my jaws of a dog rose picture. Most of the red campion shots came out bleached to pink but this one held on to the deep red that I saw (I know it's a bit too deep, but it's how they looked).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.