Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Recipe for chocolate cake

First of all I want to thank all of you massively for your birthday wishes, hearts and stars.  Above and beyond.  I felt really moved by your response to yesterday's blip.

Today I decided it was high time my birthday was forgotten and though it was a grey drizzly day I went into town for people shots.  However, the light wasn't really up to it and in the end they got filed under 'practise' and binned.

Instead, as so many of you have said you want to try making the flourless chocolate cake and I have so far only given you the ingredients, I thought I'd copy out the whole recipe for you, as a thank you!



CHOCOLATE ALMOND CAKE
 
180g 70% dark choc
180g unsalted butter
200g ground almonds
8 eggs
chopped vanilla pod or tsp essence
215g caster sugar
60g cocoa powder
pinch salt
 
Preheat oven to 150 C/Gas 2
Line a 23cm cake tin with baking parchment greased with extra butter
Break chocolate into pieces, cut butter into pieces, keep 2 eggs whole and separate other 6
Melt choc and butter together in a bowl over simmering water.  Allow to cool.  Beat 2 whole eggs with 6 egg yolks and 200g sugar.  Fold in cocoa powder and ground almonds.  Mix with melted choc mixture and stir in vanilla.
Beat 4 of the egg whites (that’s what the recipe says, but unless using v large eggs I beat all 6) to stiff peaks with salt.  Fold in remaining 15gm sugar, then fold whites gently into choc mix.
Pour into tin and bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes (I sometimes leave it a tad longer).  Turn out when cool and serve dusted with cocoa powder (best done just before serving..

Enjoy the rest of your evening and have a good Wednesday  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.