The Whale

It's called a Santa Cruz Cypress, and this example is classified as a Heritage Tree in our city. Or Heritage Shrubbery. Or The Whale, as the homeowners call it. If you wonder why someone would embrace this landscaping, read on.The story is bizarre, and I apologize if I've muddled some of the details, or facts, as they are sometimes known. 


A heritage tree is one whose diameter is over 14 inches, and one may not remove it under penalty of law. These plants were overgrown, woody and disreputable looking when the owners bought the property many years ago, but they were not allowed to move into the new house they built unless they came to an agreement with the city about the preservation of the trees. So twice a year they prune them, but not more than the allowed 25%. They have resorted to fencing off the area under the trees to discourage the people who have tried to move in there to live in the shelter provided by the twisted trunks and branches. As far as I understand the situation, they are stuck with The Whale for the rest of their days. Although I like a good tree as much as the next person, I do believe I might call The Midnight Tree Service if it were me. But don't quote me.

Hipstamatic: Lowy lens; Manneken film

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.