Frozen!

Once a year our netball girls get to play at home - every other weekend through the season they have to travel the hour and a half to Nelson to play. This being the 'big' weekend of the year I headed over to the recreation centre (across the road from my house) at 10.30 this morning.

I could barely see through the fog and it was amazing that our 5 year olds were already out there playing their game of kiwi-rugby. I don't know how they could see each other! I've put a sample photo of the peasoup in my blipfolio just so you can see how intrepid these wee ones are.

The girls had it easier, they played inside. After 11 I wandered back outside to see the next game of rugby and although the fog had lifted a little, the ground and the wooden fence were still frozen.

This is some of the ice prickles that had formed along the top of the wooden barrier.

These kids are just great being out there playing in this. Of course the teams that had come from Nelson for the games really didn't know what had struck them but our kids just take it in their stride.

Best seen large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.