Mollymawk

I was expecting the worst this morning when I opened an eye and looked out of the window, but the weather scheduled for Scotland hadn't made the crossing to Orkney and it was a lovely bright morning for me to make a trip down to the harbour to see the big boat leave on its early morning crossing to the Mainland.

There's a basic fascination for me, a complete land lubber, in watching ferries leaving and arriving in island harbours.
The Northlink ferry is no exception as it backs away from the pier and does a pirouette in mid channel before heading round the Ness on its way to Scrabster.

When its our turn to leave, I know I will feel bereft watching the ever increasing expanse of water between the boat and the place I will have called home for so many weeks.
It was the same leaving Shetland in January and it will be the same leaving Orkney at the end of June.

But this time I was left behind on the pier to make my way home with many diversions along little courtyards on the way.

This is one such courtyard on the harbour front at the south end of Stromness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.