Taking the High Road

I didn't set my alarm last night and to make absolutely sure I wasn't disturbed any earlier than I needed to be I first did a thorough search of my studio to check that there was no cat hiding anywhere! I retired before midnight and didn't wake up until 10am. I was astonished at how long I'd slept. Even when I really need to catch up I usually find that the internal alarm goes off at the usual kind of time. The initial result of all that sleep, though, was that I felt really lethargic this morning, compounded I think by three whole days without any exercise of note. Perhaps this is why my teenage boys are always complaining of feeling tired. I seriously think that their problem is often too much sleep and not enough exercise. That can be exhausting! And I'm definitely not joking. Are you reading this guys?

I eventually stirred myself to get out on the bike this afternoon. There were lots of showers but nothing too torrential. The highlight was seeing a group of youngsters camped down behind a wall at Halton Heights, all done up in cagoules, sheltering from the rain to have some food. There was lots of giggles and laughter. They seemed to be really enjoying themselves. And I was enjoying myself too, battling against the elements. I think the British spirit is best characterised by our ability to revel in adversity. We need difficulties to overcome to be at our best. I know that is true of me - which is perhaps why I seem to have spent my entire life solving problems!

This shot spoke to me today. The high road is the more difficult one to take. It often brings adversity along with it, but when you reach the other side your experience is so much richer than that of someone who has taken the low road. And the plate of food or the pint of beer at the end tastes all the better for it. The message I try to give to my boys is for them to go challenge themselves. Don't always take the easy option. Life is there to be lived so go live as much of it as you can! Are you hearing me?!

This has had to be a working day so I have now to get back to the bit of code that I'm writing. If all goes well I hope to do some browsing later. I suspect there have been some wonderfully moody blips posted today. At least all these heavy clouds have been great for photography!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.