Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Ramble

My first extended ramble for a few weeks gave me a chance to see how the summer butterflies were getting on. After a quiet couple of months it was good to see a few Peacocks about and the Green-veined Whites have also now emerged in numbers. At the other end of their flying season there were still a few worn looking Ringlets and the Small Skippers are still quite numerous.

In all, I saw eleven different species in the short stretch from Baildon Moor down to Tong Park, Spring Wood and back, with the Meadow Browns narrowly pipping the Gatekeepers as the most numerous of the day:

Green-veined White: 11
Peacock: 5
Small Heath: 2
Gatekeeper: 24
Speckled Wood: 11
Meadow Brown: 28
Comma: 2
Small Skipper: 11
Small Tortoiseshell: 15
Ringlet: 5
Small Copper: 2

I haven't seen many Commas this year, so I thought I'd share this one, looking very very fresh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.