Adam's Images

By ajt

Chive Flower

Busy day. After breakfast I made a batch of rhubarb and ginger jam - I even managed to put some ginger in the jam and not me!

After lunch I went to a friends to help with some IT issues (non serious) and return some garden tools. As I had a wheelbarrow of stuff I didn't take my camera with me so I missed a very nice dog rose in a hedge.

After I got home I went into the garden to see if there was anything to blip. The flowers have mostly survived the wind and rain but with all the wind today were moving about like a witch on a windy day. In the end I settled on this chive flower (Allium schoenoprasum) picture. I've never looked at them closely before and didn't notice their structure before.

We use to live in a house where the chives grew like mad from around the air-tight inspection port into the main sewer. I didn't think there was much soil - they were growing in concrete as far as I could make out - but they were very happy.

Apparently their high organosulphur content is what gives them their distinctive taste and why most insects leave them alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.