Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Grass

The field in front of the house is now was waist high in grasses and wild flowers, until the wind flattened most of it. I nipped over the fence and tried to imagine it was a fine sunny day with a gentle breeze. Instead, lying on my back, the sodden grass wasn't a comfortable place, the wind was furious and the sky, you can see, has no intention of showing any blue soon.

I tried to get a few kestrel feeding photos this morning, before the window slammed shut and almost broke the lens. It's infuriating. The fully zoomed 400mm lens with a x2 extender is not quite enough for a good shot and mixed with very low light it couldn't work. I've had to rule out the telegraph pole... has anyone got a cherry picker I can borrow? I took a quick look at the purple images and deleted the lot.

The chicks are looking good. The ringing doesn't seem to have phased them at all. They're still fluffy and grey and I doubt they will fledge this week. My bedroom looks straight down into the nest and I'm enjoying the privilege of watching the chicks as they grow.

Now looking forward to good night's sleep and a lie in!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.