Settling

I pretty much took the day off yesterday - all that weekend relaxing proved to be most exhausting. As it was bucketing down all day (39 mm of rain in 24 hrs) I had reasonable excuse to sit here back-blipping (Friday, Saturday, Sunday) and generally doing little more than investigating the weekend's photographs (still plenty to do there) rather than traipse in and out of the van all day.

Today I seem to be settling back into a workaday routine. I emptied the van of dirty laundry and rubbish but I still have to clean - there are a zillion  dead midges to clean out for a start!)

I took Ted out with me to begin his process of familiarisation. He took matters in his stride - he made his usual "This is new and I don't like it" noises but was soon exploring and purring.  He tested out the driving seat and learned to leap from table to kitchen worktop and back and had a good sniff around the shower tray. I took this photo when he was marking his territory by rubbing his scent glands up against the van door. 

Once I am on top of the laundry etc. I shall take him and  my knitting out to the van for a longer session. I'll put a litter tray in too so that he can get a grip on that  idea.

Mr L has to go to town on Friday to collect the car from the MOT centre. He has cat items on his shopping list - harness/leash and collapsible cat carrier  - possibly an igloo bed, though it would be best of Ted could make his home in the carrier and thereby save us some precious space.

Teddy has become impossibly clingy since we came home and is sitting in the crook of my left arm again, front end hooked into my shoulder. It makes typing very challenging! It is certainly proof that he needs to come with us or be provided with a new companion. I favour the companion route as a new Bengal in the house would be a wonderful thing - plus Ted would not be forever clinging to my shoulder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.