War Memorial

A Celtic Cross and the War Memorial. Amongst the fronts mentioned in the 1914/1818 war is Mesopotamia. This is probably a largely forgotten sector of WW1. It stood out for me on the war memorial as it refers to a place which no longer exists. For me the name conjures up antiquity rather than the 20th Century. I suppose this is the area in which Laurence of Arabia operated.

I was on my way for my morning coffee. The coffee machine is still out of order, so I was once again a customer at the independent across the road from Costa. I heard another customer asking the owner how Costa had impacted his trade. He said he had seen some decline, but not as much as he had feared.

In the afternoon I made a couple of trips to the waste recycling centre, I have a car with limited luggage space, so two trips does not amount to very much. Rain arrived mid afternoon, and was to continue throughout the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.