tridral

By tridral

Underneath the Arches

In 1966 I sat on the wall of a pub in Tenby and drank a glass of orange juice. Our fortnight in Tenby was one of the few family holidays that we had when I was a child and I remember it with a certain nostalgia.

We've now been visiting Tenby for the last 15 years and each year I thought I would go back to the pub for old time's sake. This year I paid a visit.

I was the advanced party for our trip to Tenby and went down on the train so that I could pick up the keys to our house in the afternoon. This left me with a few hours on my own to explore.

I wandered down to the railway arches and up to the pub - The Evergreen. It had changed a little since the last time I was there. Because of the ban on smoking there was now a shelter outside and the walls had been built up with perspex screens to shield the smokers from inclement weather.

I have no idea what the inside of the pub was like in 1966 - as children we didn't go into pubs - but I get the impression that not a great deal had changed except for the games machine, television and juke box.

It's definitely a place frequented by locals. I had a quiet half there and took in the atmosphere. I'll pop back in for another drink in 2058. I could be a regular.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.