Munch

A good day, starting with a long overdue haircut - I've been visiting the same hairdresser for many years and we always have a good chat. I then spent a few hours drawing a habitat map while listening to a Leonard Cohen album - the joys of working at home!

This afternoon Ben, Alex and I went into town and had a very successful time, buying everything on our list, and most of it dramatically reduced in price. We tried a new coffee shop - Bewiched - which may become our new favourite. As the weather was so hot and steamy we all opted for cold drinks - Oreo milkshake, black cherry milkshake and a mint iced coffee. All were really delicious and the staff were very friendly too.

This evening I went for a walk along the river, which I've been neglecting since we've been dogless. It was good to see all the usual wildlife - herons, kingfishers, a sparrowhawk and of course migrant hawker and common darter dragonflies. This common darter was sitting on a hogweed seed-head, munching up its latest meal. I love the way that the light is shining through the red pterostigmas, making them look almost like warning lights!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.