AFTER RAIN AND AFTER SUNSHINE COMES STORM

and that I heard some moment during the night.
In the morning however it was nice weather to walk and I started early as we would go to the Regentenkamer to attend a literary and musical program around the dutch writer and jazz trombone musician F.B. Hotz (1922-2000), presented by Cor Gout, starting at eleven o'clock.
At the early hour only parents with dogs around. The many geese and also the parents with the goslings I saw, and the female swan with her four babies.
The storm again had broken off some big branches.
When I came back Piet Hein and Mischa were ready to go and I drank my coffee and off we went. With the Randstadrail to the centre of The Hague and walk a little pace.
A very interesting program awaited us. Insight in the sphere of the short stories of Hotz were given and his particular view on people, dividing them in two categories namely at the one side men and the other side women.
There followed an inteview with a man who had performed with Hotz in a band in the fifties and sixties. Hotz was a perfectionist and his short stories were published when he was already fifty years old.
After a pause in which we ate sandwitches and grapes the musical side of Hotz came in the spotlight. First with jazz recordings of his preferences and at the end life music of an all men jazzband who were my age or older I think.

My haiku:

The music was played
With gusto and we all smiled
Happily being alive.

And the proverb from Samuel Johnson:

Music is the only sensual pleasure without vice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.