Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

Happy Fathers Day to my Dad

Sadly my Dad isn't around as he died in 1995 but today is a day to remember him.

He was called Ernest - but known as Ernie. He was born in Gateshead in 1923. He had a bad accident when he was about 7 or 8 - he was riding his bike and was run over by a hearse ( of all things ) . He spent a whole year of his childhood in hospital recovering and needed a lot of skin grafts. He was taught to knit and sew and do woodwork to help with the boredom and as therapy.

His Dad,- my Grandad, was made deaf by the noise in the factory where he worked. He got compensation which was enough for him and my Grandma to buy a little corner shop. My Dad was still a child at the time and had to learn sign language to communicate with his Dad. I remember going to the shop every weekend when I was little as my Dad, Mam and my Dad's sisters were all expected to help out.

My blip shows my Dad as a young man in his Royal Engineers uniform. ( Just look at all that Brylcream - he was a heavy user of the stuff all his life ) He served in Malta towards the end of the war - he was on the Ack Ack guns. He was also batman to a Colonel there.

He didn't have an easy life but he worked hard to provide for his family. He was really handy around the house and could make or fix anything. I often used to call him up to come and fix something at my house as my late husband Douglas would readily admit he was useless at DIY.

So Happy Father's Day Dad - I miss you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.