LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Shabby chic...

When I was out a couple of weeks ago with G we stopped at a little shop in Portobello, I've passed it hundreds of times and it's always been closed but the day of the 3 Harbours Festival it was open so we went in. As soon as I walked in the door I saw this armchair and it was exactly what I wanted, only it was already sold. The lady in the shop took my number just in case whoever bought it decided they didn't want it after all and I never thought any more about it.

She called me this morning to tell me that the sale had fallen through and was I still interested? Oh yes... I still want the perfect chair! For the bargain price of 38 quid! I'm looking at my chair and I love it. My flat feels like home again. I hadn't realised just how much of my flat Digby took over and whilst I miss having him around, I like my space and lit candles and real flowers and nothing having teeth marks in it. If I can get onto the upholstery course, I'm going to make this chair my project. For the moment I'm going to look at it and smile, sit in it and read and generally just love other people's old stuff!

I got the zebra for 50p in the salvage yard and the tarnished silver goblets for £2.50... I LOVE LOVE LOVE other people's old tat! I love clutter. I love my flat even if I'm a little stir crazy after being stuck here for a week.

Feeling more like me, still have a bit of a head going on but I suspect I need to drink more. I'm glad to have got out and got some fresh air today, I saw another human being and had some conversation. I'm even going to try proper food tonight. Thank you for all your well wishes over the last week, I'm sorry for the too much information thing, well I'm not really sorry but I felt I should apologise anyway... you're all lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.