dwalletta

By dwalletta

First Day

I set off early to get the bus to school, clutching my new camera (my trusty Fuji isn't suitable for the course - we need to have a proper DSLR with bits that can be screwed on and off), my best colouring-in pens, and a big empty notebook. Then I went back home to collect the camera manual. Just in case.

We were given timetables, college email addresses and pep talks. We were told by one scarily large lecturer that the course was tough, demanding and took no prisoners. It separates the men from the boys. We have to keep on top of the work or we'll "crash and burn". He repeated "crash and burn" several times, while jabbing his finger at us menacingly, until one student started sobbing. 

After I'd stopped snivelling, they took us round the library. I'll have access to a splendid collection of photography books and journals, but the downside is I'll have to read some of them. And probably have a small test later on what I've read.

Next, they dished out our first assignment. It doesn't seem particularly tough, but I suspect they might be lulling us into a false sense of security before hitting us with the hard stuff and grinning as they watch us crash and burn.

Then just as we were getting into the swing of it, they sent us home for the rest of the week. No more lectures until next Monday. I'm not sure whether to be delighted at the unexpected free time, or to feel aggrieved and demand a refund of my course fees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.