Highly Strung

My first Redstart! Ok it may have been at a distance and kneeling over the shoulders of two guys hogging the hide window but at least I have evidence! They were pretty excited about the whole thing so I thought I should be too!

Dropped into Old Moor RSPB Reserve near Barnsley on the way up to visit the folks. Had it been sunnier I think there would have been a lot more flying about, as it was there was very little. However, ear-wigging a conversation in the hide meant I at least got this shot.

They visit in April from places like Africa and the males like this one, arriving before the females. Nesting in woodland areas in natural tree holes, they lay about 6 blue eggs in May and leave in October back to the sahara . They are fly catchers, preferring winged insects. 

Fact for the day: 'Start' is an old word for tail, hence it's name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.