Artist wants Murals Saved

The demolition of the Manchester St car parking building is underway and the artiest who painted the murals on it wants them saved. Chris Finlayson said he was very disappointed that no efforts were made to save these mural that he and Dean Blundell painted in 1995.

The murals were painted on concrete panels and could theoretically be removed intact and that is why Chis Finlayson wanted them moved to another location or donated to the Christchurch Art Gallery or sold to benefit a charity.

The murals made it appear that an airplane, helicopter, steam engine, yacht and a tram, among other vehicles, were parked on three levels of the car park.

You can see the shot Top Middle of the car parking building being demolished at the moment. The shot Bottom Middle is the front of the building and you see the murals on the right hand side of that shot. The other shots are some of the details of the murals on the side of the car park.

I am feeling a little sore just now as I went with my friend to a Spin class. We did the nine week one a while back and then they started it full time, the week I went away to Australia. My friend encouraged me to go along as she is really enjoying the classes and thought that it would be good for me as well. You pay as you go which is great but the only problem is that classes are Monday and Thursday. I can't do Monday as I have my hydrotherapy class. I will go once a week and see how it go.

After dropping my friend home I took a drive into the city and took a short walk around to have a look at the car parking building being demolished. The wind was strong and bitterly cold so didn't walk for long.

For more information and photos on the car park murals and demolition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.