Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Goat Burgers

It was a meal that dreams & memories are made of. Fresh ground dark roast coffee, cheddar cheese sent to me special from stormy Wales, and ground goat meat I bought at the farmer market, with cumin and garlic added in. I've been prefering goat & lamb to most other meats for some years.

I have few memories of actual goats before they meet the butcher. One is from India, where I spent a year of college. I was climbing a long staircase that hugged the side of a forest-wrapped mountainside, leading to a temple of Durga. It was a long climb, and just moments before we turned the last boulder and saw the altar, a small group of worshipers decsended and passed us, carrying the body of a black goat and its severed head.

I think it was this, Kanaka Durga Temple in Andhra Pradesh State, but it's a long time ago and the sacrificial goat is all I clearly remember. I was disappointed that I had missed the ceremony itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.