There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Crittergator on Coral Bells

When I planted my butterfly garden on Memorial Day weekend (the last weekend in May) in 2009, I tried to pick plants that butterflies and hummingbirds would love; and I planted them all in a 10-foot-by-20-foot plot on the sunny south side of my house (butterflies are solar-powered, don't you know?).

I researched the plants I wanted, and then I ordered them online. Then I used an online diagramming program called Gliffy (I used the free trial version - it was great) to create a diagram of how I wanted the plants to be arranged.

The list of plants included:
black knight butterfly bush
monarda Jacob Cline
echinacea, various types, including a few fancy ones
echinops ritro, or globe thistle (which the bees just LOVE)
cardinal flower
red carpet border lily
columbine, several kinds
coral bells
gaillardia

For the first year or so, everything came up as planned. As the years pass, the monarda seem to be taking over. The fancier, pricier types of echinacea seem to have faded out. I've also added a new plant or two along the way.

Each year, the butterfly garden puts on its annual show.

This year, it started with big purple columbine blooms back in late April into May.

Then came the stunning red carpet border lilies in late May and early June.

Most recently we've had two new blooms open: coral bells (heuchera, pictured here) and the six-foot tall red monarda, which I promise to show you soon.

Now, let's get to the question some of you are no doubt wondering about: Why is this crittergator hanging upside down on the coral bells?

Perhaps it was because he was inspired by the Wallendas and their exploits, including their recent tightrope walk over Niagara Falls.

Perhaps he was just hiding out, incognito, watching for one of our hummingbirds. I admit that *I* was! We keep an eye out and a camera handy, but they've been kind of shy this year. (I suspect it's because it's been such a wet spring.)

Or maybe he was just enjoying a lovely, breezy June day, letting the blood flow to his head to inspire deeper and more philosophical thoughts.

Perhaps we'll never know!

Watch this space for more pictures of my butterfly garden in summer. And maybe even if we're lucky, eventually I will nab a shot of one of those elusive ruby-throated hummingbirds!

P.S. There are many other plants, in addition to those listed above, that are favorites of butterflies and hummingbirds. I encourage anyone who reads this to plant a tiny space in the yard for them. It's not much work, and it doesn't have to be huge; but I assure you that if you plant it, they will come! (Can you say "blipfoto bait"?) The experts will tell you that butterflies need both nectar plants for the adult butterflies to eat, and host plants for the caterpillars to nibble on. Here are two Web sites I think well of: Butterfly Gardening, and Attracting Hummingbirds. There are many more out there; just google "plants for hummingbirds and butterflies."

P.P.S. Many nectar plants will also attract bees of all kinds, which are wonderful and valuable pollinators. But if you are phobic of bees, you might plant your butterfly garden in a part of the yard where you can walk to it and visit it when you want, but where the bees won't bother you otherwise.

Good luck! And the butterflies and hummingbirds thank you in advance! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.