Leading her mate

Some time ago I was moved to label this southern end of Snells Beach Poaka Precinct. Because here is where one could most reliably see the pied stilts (Poaka), and there were usually a number to be seen. That is less so now; instead this is where I see many kotare (kingfishers). I did so again this morning.

Unfortunately, I had neglected to check the settings on the camera, and consequently the ISO was still at 3200, meaning that all photos were rather granular, especially when enlarged. The high ISO was useful, however, in this photo of a putangitangi duck leading the drake away from the mad human intruding on their space. Because they were going fast, and it helped give clarity at such speed.

Paradise shelducks mate for life, and together care for the ducklings. I have formed the opinion that the drake is somewhat more laissez-faire about such caring than is the duck. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.