Tiny Dancer

There are several regular visitors to our hummingbird feeder, but I do not think I know this one. You learn to recognize them by how they look and also by how they act. Some of them sit at the feeder to drink. Others merely hover.

But this one had its own unique style. It would hang in the air about a foot from the feeder, and then dip down (but not sit) to drink. Then, back up in the air, and back down hovering over the feeder and sipping, its tiny feet hanging. It reminded me of a tiny dancer, dancing back and forth in the air in front of me.

Summer is ending. In just a few weeks, the little birds will start to head south on their long journey, and I will miss them so. But until then, we will enjoy watching the hummingbirds dance. And so the song to accompany this image is Elton John, with Tiny Dancer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.