Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Blackie Breakfast

Its amazing how tame some of the birds are getting now they are fed every day as I search for another bird blip. Since they had chicks to feed a lot more birds have been appearing at the feeding station. In recent weeks, with lots of young birds sitting on nearby trees waiting to be fed, the parents have been getting bolder, with some happy to come down to feed while I am still putting food out elsewhere and only a few feet away. However, If I point the camera at them they are usually off in a flash.

This morning it was Mrs Blackie who appeared first and was most impatient, squawking her way from one one tree perch to another as if trying to chase me away so she could get to the food. At least when she was in the trees against the bright blue sky, she presented a blipping opportunity not to be missed. Eventually, she got bold enough to come down to the wall beside me and grab some food, which I am guessing was for some young who were nearby. I grabbed some more shots, but preferred the earlier ones because of the contrasting colours.

Been quite a relaxing day with Mrs B up in the city at the dentist and me taking some visitors out fishing off the Point. Lots of Mackerel about, although they were mostly small. Never mind, we got enough to fill the BBQ for a fish lunch with a glass of wine. All in all it was rather a pleasant was to spend the early part of Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.