EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

A Happy Day

The streets were filled with jubilant people early evening.

As I walked into the village, taxis had been covered in posters of Morsi and people spoke through loud speakers about the new Egypt. Revellers drove up and down sounding their horns from cars, arabeyas and motorbikes, shouting his name and waving their hands in the air. Had it been announced already that he had won?

Further on into a smaller village, I heard loud music. Emerging from a small side street was a truck full of Morsi supporters waving flags and again, sounding horns and shouting his name.
Quite a group followed and gathered support on motorbikes and in cars as they travelled slowly around the West Bank, even the children came rushing out to see what was happening.

It was Prayer time and the crowd dispersed to the local Mosque. I parked up the bike and had a chat with a friend of mine, who was also celebrating. It's great to pick his brains as he really knows his stuff and has very good English. He explained that they stayed up until 4am today to hear Morsi speak on television, telling people he had won? He asked me if people living here were afraid what would happen to them now 'A little I guess' was my reply. I know some people have already taken measures regarding their pets, should they have to leave. Many vaccinations and passports have already been done at ACE.

The men returned from their Prayers and climbed into trucks, cars and revved their bikes to set off on a 'Tour' of Qorna, before heading down to the River. It was quite a moving moment, just a shame my camera and the lens 'Froze' on me again. Hence you have the more subdued image of a happy arabeya driver.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.