Borrowdale

We had a bit of an emotional roller coaster today as we set out to climb Rosthwaite Fell before lunch.

It was a hell of a haul to the top and we were absolutely exhausted when I consulted the map and found we were not actually at the top of Rosthwaite Fell according to the map.   My navigation had been based on a map of Wainwrights that I had downloaded and I was convinced there must have been a mistake.

We did not have time to cross over the tarn and climb up the other side as we hadn't taken any lunch with us and we were due back in Keswick to meet someone.

First thing I did when I got back was to check the facts and apparently Alfred Wainwright made the mistake and the true Rosthwaite Fell was not the one he labelled as such.  So we did do it after all!  Phew!

This picture shows Borrowdale from the South with Keswick in the distance.  I liked to patch of sunlight on the field.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.