Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Tewkesbury Abbey under Storm Clouds

Had a trip out today for a thrilling course on caravan site licensing.  I'd never been to Tewkesbury and as I drove through the town at the beginning of the day I was drawn to the Abbey.  I planned to pop out at lunchtime.

Lunchtime came and so did the rain!  Plan B, a quick walk out at the end of the course.  Fortunately the rain had stopped but storm clouds were beginning to bank up to the north.  In the end it helped and after walking around and into the abbey I ended up in this location, across the meadow.  Looking at the map I see Tewkesbury is the confluence of the Avon and Severn rivers.  You may remember this image from the 2007 floods.

Unfortunately stopping to take these photographs meant I ended up driving along the M5/M6 at rush hour, though I'm not sure it is appropriately named (rush it was not!).

Technique: This is a Nik Silver Efex Pro conversion.  Many of the presets enhance cloud structure, but on this occasion it was not needed.  I added a coffee filter to add this antique effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.