Kaituna

I biked the Little River Rail Trail today. Yes, that means I had a date with Bob :-)

Other than Bob the Bike, my friend Diana came along. It was a beautiful spring day. We enjoyed our respective coffee/smoothie at Little River, and ate half our lunch in the sun.

A tail wind along the side of Lake Forsyth propelled quickly ushered us back to the turn off to Birdlings Flat. We had a little poke around and a sit down on the beach, where I had a Mum moment.

Many years ago she and I went out there and fossicked around on the stony beach looking for gem stones. I have a little dish on my dressing table with what we collected that day. Sometimes the smallest of things catch me off-guard.

Then it was back on our bikes and heading back towards town, and a head wind at that. Near the spot where we parked my car we examined ammunition storage relics from WW2, on the edge of Lake Ellesmere. I never knew they existed.

It was what I needed.

I've had 3 weeks of stress with the council, chasing with dogged determination to check consent concerns I have with a development over my back fence. On Friday I received an email indicating they've made a mistake. But an offer of trellis from the developer doesn't deal with the problem.

I didn't sleep well last night and had to discipline myself today to put it aside. Once home this afternoon, I phone one of the City Councillors who represents me. He'll try to get a better outcome for me. I have rejected the "solution" of trellis and now I wait and see what happens next. If the council has indeed wrongly granted a consent, they need to put it right.

As the day ends I feel less than great. I woke with a funny cough, sort of like asthma I used to get. But I felt fine and I figured it would go away.

It hasn't and I'm hoping I haven't got something brewing. Just a couple more wee things to do and I'll slip gratefully to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.