Snake Eye

After a dull week, which weather aside, was spent in the office, I took advantage of the blue skies and headed to The Vyne, a National Trust property near Basinstoke.

Although I have visited this property many times, I learn something new each time.  Today I learnt that in Henry Tudor's time it was twice the size - as was fitting for his visits.  There was also the once in a lifetime opportunity of getting up close to the stained glass in the chapel which is currently under conservation and we were allowed onto the scaffolding erected to give access to the windows, as can be seen in the extras.

Walking through the grounds towards the wood I spotted a grass snake in the undergrowth. It hang around long enough to allow me to change to the longest lens I was carrying, but I only had one chance of a shot, and no chance of avoiding the grass blades. Still, I have never seen one in the wild before, so it had to be the shot of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.