Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Carpet moth

Well, I have reached the 300 and still enthused, thanks to all my regular visitors. I need to apologise for my recent abstinence from commenting. I am going through a bad spell here, my fiscal recovery plan A has gone to hell, as there are no job offers flowing. I have already stayed with my son much longer than I intended, so I have to put together a new plan and this has been occupying my mind a lot. I am sure normal service will be resumed shortly, just bear with me for now.

I could not think of anything clever for the 300 so I decided to try for a butterfly shot and paint a tacky 300 on the wing. The chances of actually getting a butterfly shot were quite low but the weather was being nice to me. Within a couple of minutes of arriving at the woods, the blip monster gave me my 300 prezzy but he did insist on testing me by burying it deep in the nettles. Way too handsome of a specimen to start messing about in PS.

I have just spent an hour trying to identify the insect. I could not make my mind up whether it is a butterfly or a moth, so I researched both. I came up blank, so I am throwing it open to you guys and gals to make a name for yourselves.

Update - identification carpet moth - Epirrhoe alternata - thanks to Gen2 and Ceridwen for nailing it for me.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.