big

... gig. 

Off to Milton Keynes today to see Royal Blood, Iggy Pop and the Foo Fighters at the national bowl; +1/3's first gig. We couldn't have been more lucky with the weather, especially as yesterday was very wet: sunny & not too hot. 

Royal Blood up first: proper trouser flapping stuff and a great performance with perhaps a little too much self-indulgent feedback-o-rama at the end but pretty good. Iggy Pop next running through his hits and swearing copiously. I suspect +1/3 may have learned a few new choice phrases. He did however spot (despite being pretty far from the stage) that Iggy is no spring chicken. Pretty impressive for a 68-year-old (Iggy that is, not +1/3). Finally, the Foos: Dave appears to have taken some design cues from Davros for his throne and I was half expecting a blue laser to burst from his forehead at some point. Nate Mendel had his usual "I hate my life, why am I doing this, I think I'll just stand here, grimace and it'll all be over in 20 years" face on. Chris Shiflett was wearing a cravat that he'd clearly stolen from Fred Jones. But apart from that hits aplenty and but the end of the night we'd had about 4h of music over 5h. Well worth the money.

Long queue to get out of MK, trip back down the road, bed.

More on t'flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.