Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Rescue number 1 for today

I was going out to the shops and to find a blip when the pager went off. It was the coastguard requesting our inshore lifeboat to tow in a small punt with engine failure. I sorted this then took a detour to the boathouse to watch them return, so my hunt for a blip was solved without me even having to think about it :-)

An hour later I finally made it to the supermarket but didn't get into the shop before the pager went off again ! This time it was to help a dingy that had capsized so I sent the Inshore Lifeboat again. I don't think the crew had even had time for a cup of tea after the last shout.

Its one of the laws of being on call, you either get nothing for a week or 2 calls in the same afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.