Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The home away from home

We FINALLY arrived at our destination at Slater, Colorado after 36 hours of driving..but it is worth it.   I love the cooler weather,  I love to watch the leaves turn on the aspens,   I love that it might snow at little even in October,   and I love the wide open spaces and the mountains.   And I can fish for trout at the creek which is just a quick walk down the hill.    Walking most days ( as soon as I learn how to breath at this 6700ft elevation). 

We had a big surprise when we got here..a critter had made itself at home for a while..a pack rat we think by the size of the poop..so I spent the afternoon washing towels, bed linens and cleaning off EVERY surface...but it is what it is.   We found the sliding glass door open downstairs..just enough room for the critter to come on in!   The good news is there is not a single mouse poop that I can find (and I usually do!)

But tomorrow is another day!  And I am in Colorado!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.