LIGHTS ( Camera, Action )

Early start this morning.  I had set the alarm for 9am.  Slept through it and woke up at 9.54am.  Was supposed to get the 10am bus to Newcastle.... no chance.  However I did get the 10.15am bus.  Whew!.  Once in Newcastle I dashed up Northumberland Street in the pouring rain and arrived at the Civic Centre in time for The Heritage Open Days Vintage Bus Tour which left at 11am.  My trousers were wet through and my feet were soaked but I was on the bus!.

Bus windows were misted up and the bus was slow and noisy but it was a great tour around the streets of Newcastle. The lady who did the commentary was excellent.  You can see the vintage bus in my extra shots - it was a 1949 Bristol. We stopped off at the The Castle Keep ( the medieval Castle which gave Newcastle its name ) and spent 30 mins looking around.  I walked up the 99 steep and winding steps to the roof.  If the weather had been better the views would have been wonderful but as you can see from my extra shot it was rainy and misty.  Back on to the bus and around the Byker and Ouseburn area before returning to the Civic Centre.

I had some free time before my next Heritage Open Day activity so I sat down inside a shopping centre and ate a bag of crisps and had a drink.  I was glad of a bite to eat as I hadn't had time for breakfast.

Then I made my way ( in the rain ) to the BBC building where I had booked a tour.  It was a short tour - about 30 mins  - but it was interesting to see behind the scenes.  My main shot shows the newsroom - so many lights on the ceiling.

Walked back into town - by this time the rain had stopped.  Did a bit of food shopping and got the bus home around 4.30pm. Made chicken, sweet potato and butternut squash tagine for my tea.  Neil came here after work.  He had done an 11 hour shift so he was only fit for bed.  Too tired to even eat. He has the day off tomorrow so he can take it easy.

Newcastle was buzzing today - lots of people around.  There was a protest march of over 600 people supporting  " Refugees are welcome here "  and the City Games were taking place on the Quayside as well as the Junior Great North Run and the Mini Great North Run for the little ones. The main event - The Great North Run - is tomorrow.  Hope the weather is OK for the runners. 

Steps today - 14,838

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.