Merrivale Quarry

I took a ride out to Dartmoor this morning to catch the best of the day as I believe there's some dirty old weather coming in. I wasn't going to stop at Dartmeet but but when I saw that there was no one else there I couldn't resist stopping for a quick shot of the old clapper bridge. I've taken this angle before and probably blipped it so it only makes it as the extra shot today.

My intended destination was Merrivale Quarry. It's been disused since the 1990s and granite hasn't been extracted since about 1970. New Scotland Yard is faced with granite from here.

When I got there I stopped to look around and saw a shed up on the hill which I haven't noticed before. It's an unprepossessing sort of shed, it looks as if it's relatively modern, built out of blocking and rendered. It's the dry stone walling around it that makes it look interesting. I imagine that's a blast wall and that the shed's an explosives store. You'll find these shots on Flickr if you'd like to see more.

My blip is what I call the mess hut. I've got no idea if it's actually a mess hut but it's the only one with a chimney and I can imagine the quarry workers sitting around on a cold day with their pasties warming up in the stove.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.