The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Deviance on a sunny afternoon

Today was the final day of the Stroud theatre festival, but I had not got any tickets as I'm staying in after my rather expensive summer! To start the day, I bought some books as Amazon is having yet another promo to keep me hooked forever, despite my having cancelled Prime.

This made me guilty about all the books I've ever bought but haven't read. As the day wasn't too lovely, I decided to sort out the shelf at the top of the stairs. I have a not-unreasonable fear of being killed by a toppling pile of books, forcing me backwards down the stairwell, or even through the gap where the bannisters used to be. Having spent the summer sorting out and redistributing other people's books, it was time to attend to my own.

The good news was that I threw out two tattered books, and put 45 more in a 'to go' box. I put them out in the street, but only two went. The rest can be taken to a charity, or the fete store at work.I also Skyped my sister TMLHereandThere, and another sister called me to ask about train tickets. I think she thinks I have a special talent for booking them ;)

Then my neighbour came around, and more or less insisted that she buy all my cat-flea treatment pipettes from me, now! I was so startled that I agreed, as she was paying handsomely and also offering to buy me a fresh packet. I bought the stuff for her online, but as she's never used her card online before, it took forever to set up. So much for the digital revolution! I sometimes have a longing for a human interchange when buying things. On the internet, no one can hear you swear, unless you accidentally flame someone! It's usually systems I feel annoyed with.

So, all this going on, and I haven't done any of my very annoying jigsaw, or much else, but it's good to catch up with family and friends.

The book covers are from the Penguin series of mini-classics, Great Loves. Of course I haven't read them! I bought the box set because I liked the stylised covers, and it was in a sale. It wil come in handy when I get to my desert island, as long as it's in a waterproof container. I did once stay on a desert island with TMLHereandThere, her daughter Immy and our cousin Hamish. A more dismal place is hard to imagine: Soviet-era USSR environment meets Arabian Nightmares, complete with mandatory Mickey Mouse entertainment desert sandstorm and alcohol-free cocktails. If only we had brought our books!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.