Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

One for Sorrow, Two for Joy

... and these magpies did bring a day of joy; mixed, of course with a dose of work.

I arrived home at 5.30am, just as the sun was rising up into the sky. Through a gentle rising mist, the shadows on the landscape were long and dark. I shouldn't have to say that I was surprised to find the air warm!

I gazed out of the window with the most essential part of my day, the first cup of tea, in my hand. A family of six Magpies came down to the table and bickered with a pigeon about who was going to have access to the feeder. I was surprised to see the pigeon, although not allowed to feed, stood rooted to the spot despite the Magpies menacing.

Magpies aren't everyone's favourites. I expect most people would wonder why I stood, mesmerised, and watched them empty a whole feeder. Seeing an entire family together and watching the interaction through the suns rays was such a wonderful way to start a day!

The table was a little dark so the images if the stand off didn't come out quite as well as I'd have liked. This is a youngster demanding food from it's parent on the fence behind the table. There were a total of six and the pigeon. Maybe I'll find gold yet!

There are so many versions of the verse! The one I remember it is:
One for sorrow,
Two for joy,
Three for a girl,
Four for a boy.
Five for silver,
Six for gold,
Seven for a secret; never to be told.
Eight for a wish,
Nine for a kiss
Ten for a time of joyous bliss.

What were the last lines you learnt?

My daydreams finished when the first of our full house came downstairs at 6.15. A full and happy day followed and, now it's almost time to go to work again.

Mine is a topsy turvy life!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.