Landing Carpet Bat.

June Challenge: Fast

A rather tenuous link to the challenge, but...
This little bat, that I made reference to yesterday appeared on my landing carpet this evening, even though I thought it had flown out of my bedroom window last night.
I only took a couple of shots of it here as I had to use flash.

The bat, so fast and agile in flight was reduced to crawling awkwardly across the carpet.

I put on my gardening gloves and picked it up. It squeaked loudly at me and tried to bite me as I wrapped it gently in a towel before carrying out into the garden and placing it on the trunk of the large yew tree, where upon is crawled slowly up the trunk and found a crevice to hide in.

Fortunately I don't suffer from chiroptophobia phobia of bats

I do hope it will take flight and catch enough insects to restore it to health tonight.

I think that is one of my hairs caught on its foreleg/wing.

I'm assuming it is a pipistrelle, but if anyone can confirm the species I would be most grateful.

I'm taking a bit of a 'staycation' this week, (I hate that word - staycation) but it fits the bill. Ascot yesterday, golf today and Ascot again tomorrow.

Golf today was with the local pub golfing society - always a good laugh.
Golf lends itself to innuendo and Dave whom I played with, along with a couple of other guys, is the master of it.
I completely corpsed at one point when B was standing out of place on the fairway and Dave said:
" I'm going to play over your head"

Then T said," I'm coming over your head too"

Dave only had to look at me and raise an eyebrow and the tears were streaming down my face! I had to walk away and pretend I'd had a tickle in my throat.
Sorry blippers, but I just needed to share!!

I didn't play particularly well today but my track record for winning the ladies' section remains unbroken.

Possibly because I'm the only female member of the society!!

Bat out of Hell - naturally

June Challenge:
1. Inspired by...
2. A toy
3. Green and yellow
4. Drink
5. Sky
6. Descend
7. Passages, Real & In Time
8. Dusk
9. 4 of a kind
10. A snack
11. A friend
12.Take 12
13. On a bench
14. A flag
15.Shadows
16. A phobia
17. A love for...
18. Flame
19. Colorful
20. Fast
21.Welcome summer
22.With wings
23. Pink
24.Make believe
25.Through a window
26. A passion
27. A tomato
28. Music. How you listen
29.Through a lens
30. Playful

I thought I'd give it a go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.