Midsummer Chronophage

This is a new exhibit from work, and I love it.

It's a clock... there are a series of notches around the outside which are pushed along by the grasshopper as the pendulum swings. Instead of hands, there are spaces where light glows. It's supposed to show how time can be variable to different people at different stages of their life... so it loses and gains time as it goes, but then resets itself every five minutes so it's back to being exact... The grasshopper also blinks and moves around. I think it's magical and a little bit strange and quite absorbing... I'd happily have it in my house... but it's also massive... see this picture for a sense of scale

If you get chance head into the museum and have a look...

Sorry I've been such a bad blip chum at the moment, I'm struggling to keep up with everyone's journals at the mo as life is going through a busy patch with the day job and the sideline business... I've also been experimenting with moo cards and smugmug and all sorts of new fangled technological things... but I haven't forgotten you all, and I love it when you stop by : )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.