Saying "I will!" 40 years on

As part of the family celebration of our ruby wedding, we headed, in bright sunshine and under blue skies, from our rural Somerset hotel out to Bristol to look round ss Great Britain, designed and built by Isambard Kingdom Brunel and launched in 1843. 

Before we knew it, our son had signed up to climb the 30m high rigging and, hardly had he done so, than his dad decided to join him! Got a crick in my neck watching them, and then my heart in my mouth as our son went further and edged his way along the rope on the mainyard. (OK, they had safety harnesses, but I couldn't have done it!) Mr PP senior was frustrated not to be able to walk out on the yardarm, but it was impossible with his dodgy hip. At least, that's his excuse. I'm amazed how he managed to drag his bad leg up the rigging. Sheer willpower! He said, "I will!" and he did it. Much like 40 years ago when we tied the knot.

You can see young Mr PP on the yardarm, and maybe make out Mr PP senior's feet in the crow's nest. The extras show a zoom of our son on the yardarm, as well as a sepia version of him with his wife and sister leaving our shores to set out for the New World aboard ss Great Britian!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.