Rollin'

I set off on my bike this morning to look for blackberries. Apparently the word "blackberry" has been omitted from the latest edition of the Oxford Junior Dictionary, and I heard George Monbiot on the radio last night talking about all the other nature words which had been left out - he made them into a version of the song from The Sound of Music - "These are a Few of my Favourite Things". I don't know for sure if children are aware of weasels, blackberries and kingfishers, but I hope they are. I can only say that I never see any children picking blackberries in our rural area (or adults either, for that matter).
I also never see any farmers rolling the fields, but maybe I'm just out in the wrong place at the wrong time. I often pass this handsome roller on my way to Glenkiln and today I was pleased that the colour of the sky matched its blue paint. I looked up some information about why farmers roll their fields and you can read it Here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.