Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Scorpion fly female - Panorpa communis

Today I started to invoke plan B of my fiscal recovery. It is not a strong plan, more of an intermediate fill-in until plan A (get a job) comes together. I have decided to return to Indonesia and try to make a small income from photography. I am aware that insect photography is not the best earner, but being in Indonesia, I have a unique opportunity with the abundance of exotics. I can always diversify if necessary.

In order to make this plan work, I needed new glass, to get in closer, also more pixels would be required. I decided to put some stress on my newly acquired VISA card and took delivery of a Sigma 105mm F2.8 DG macro lens. Choosing a lens with vibration reduction was a good idea.

Today, after reading the manual, I tried the lens out at the woods. Not a great deal of insect life around as the weather was dull and wet. You can expect a flurry of close up macro shots for the next week or so while I learn to control the lens get over the novelty.

Today's subject is one that I have blipped before and so makes a good comparison for the capability of the lens. Tomorrow the pixels arrive in the form of a D7000, so more learning to be done.

There is a strong possibility that this plan will fail, but I do have another back-up provided by my good friend Iain (Euphemist), who has offered me digs and a pocket money job, which would keep me ticking over.

Ironically, I have just received a reply from an agent and I am being submitted for a job in Germany, to work for Porsche. I wish I had gone for the D800 now! Still, no guarantees of a job offer.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.