The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

The Raccoonette Quartet

Our home is perched atop a hill in the middle of the city and, on the downhill portion of the lot, there is an unruly thicket of woods. Over the last several years, I have been working to thin the vegetation in the area and make it a place one would want to spend time but, given my schedule, our dogs seem to be far more interested in the area than I have been as of late. In fact, they "hunt" it most every chance they get.

As we were just getting ready to tuck Gabriella into bed, we heard the dogs burst into an opera of howls and barks and yelps. It was La Scala worthy. I grabbed my camera with the thought that something of interest was underfoot. As I called the pups back and their opera subsided, I heard the sweet voices of these little raccoons that were clinging mightily to our neighbor's fence. Bonnie and Gabriella wrestled the pups into the house whilst I struggled in the darkness to catch a few blips before they climbed a tree to a much safer place.

I had a gritty and unusual urban street scene all set for my blip tonight but this technically imperfect last minute event captured my heart and that of my daughter and wife. So, I present to you the Raccoonette Quartet. I have never before caught four of them lined in a row in one blip. The most amazing thing is that we live in the middle of the city center yet, wildlife is still a huge part of our lives. It is very fun.

Thanks for your wonderful comments on my blip of Gabriella. She was a "happy camper" today from sunrise to sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.