Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Friendship

I've known Chris for 30 years - give or take a month or two.

Back in our youth he was one of the few people with enough patience to draw me out of my extreme shyness, ask my opinions about things and listen to what I had to say. In those days he'd call round at my flat on a regular basis and I'd put 50p in the meter so we could huddle by the electric fire for a while. It always seemed to be freezing, whatever the season.

He's lived in New Zealand for many years now but whenever he's back for a while to visit his family and friends we still meet up on a regular basis to chat, much as we did all those years ago. Once we spoke of the concerns of youth. These days we speak of the concerns of middle age. Although today we sat not by the fire but out in my garden with the sun making a very welcome appearance.

It's been a real pleasure having him around for a few months but he flies back to New Zealand on Thursday, stopping for several days in New York and San Francisco en route. I'm going to miss him loads.

Chris, this is for you... You're a true pal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U2Ig4sMURdc

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.