Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

"My Teddy Bear"

He sits upon his pillowed throne 
A joyous smile upon his face. 
And though his ears may seem outgrown 
He carries them with pride and grace.
 
He's never cross or quick to carp 
A friend in need is he to me. 
When human tongues are mean and sharp 
My Teddy gives me sympathy. 

To him I always bare my soul 
He lifts me when I'm feeling low. 
And when I brag and miss my goal 
He never says, 'I told you so.'
 
My friends many titter gleefully 
And some may tease, but I don't care. 
I hope that I will never be 
Too old to love my Teddy Bear. 

 Jeffrey S. Foreman 
The New York Times 
27th October 1977


This isn't actually my teddy bear, though I do have quite a large number of bears at home.  This one was found waiting patiently for someone to buy him at one of the garden centres Mum and I like to look around.  We thought he was very eye-catching, but neither of us has room for any more teddies - even very fetching ones in tartan.  At least I will now always be able to look at him in this blipfoto :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.