Supermoon, Harvest Moon - total lunar eclipse

A harvest moon is the traditional name for the full moon nearest to the Autumn Equinox (September 21).

I was awake after 3am so I popped outside to see if the blood red moon was visible.  I saw the eclipse - see my extra shot.  I came indoors for a while ( It was freezing cold outdoors ) and when I went out again the moon was turning red.  However it was very cloudy and I couldn't get any decent shots. I decided to use the best of the bunch as my blip to mark the event - it won't happen again until 2033.

After about 4½ hours sleep I was up again as I had a doctors appointment at 9.30am.  It was bitterly cold as I walked down to the village but the weather warmed up later and got quite sunny,

The reason I wanted to see the doctor was to ask him about stopping one of my medications.  I had read that one of its side effects was to cause weight gain.  As I have been having trouble losing weight for a while I wondered if these tablets were part of the problem.  I have been having half the prescribed dose for a month ( my own decision ) and I asked the doctor today whether I could come off them altogether.  The doctor agreed but I have to " taper down " the dose for a couple of weeks and then stop. This is to minimise the withdrawal effects..He gave me a prescription for different painkillers - one of the many side effects is ---- you guessed it --- weight gain.  But he said  it shouldn't be as bad as the previous tablets. We will see.

When I got back home I was feeling weary so I had a nice nap.  Then I finally cleaned the BBQ - last used on Bank Holiday weekend - and packed it away for the winter.  It was a messy job - no wonder I had been putting it off.

Slimming Club this evening.  I lost 3 pounds this week.  Hooray!

Steps today - 8,633

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.