Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Painted

The day started with thick fog, but it cleared by lunchtime leaving a warm sunny afternoon to enjoy a long walk and a plethora of butterflies.

Starting in the graveyard with Red Admiral, Speckled Wood and Comma I then crossed the road to the community garden where this Painted Lady was the highlight, the first I'd seen since late spring. We had been promised a bumper year for these migrants, but that hasn't transpired in my neck of the woods, although as I left the garden I found another, dead on the pavement. 

Heading down to Tong Park and Spring Wood it was Speckled Woods all the way (like the two feasting on a blackberry in my second photo), with the occasional Red Admiral and Small Tortoiseshell and a couple of Silver Y moths. In combing the woodland edge I spooked a Little Owl which had been well secreted.

By the tarn there was some dragonfly activity, with Brown Hawker and Common Darter evident.

I then walked the length of Spring Wood and battled through the bracken on the moor to Sconce, then up the lane through Faweather to Weecher where I turned back to Birch Close Lane and along the horse gallops back to the moor. It was along the gallops that I got the biggest surprise of the day, a late flying Wall - the first I'd seen all year and a good couple of weeks past its usual flight time in our neighbourhood. I managed a distant record photo, but it flew off before I could get closer.

A final transect of the moor back to the village didn't throw up any more surprises but it had been another good day for wildlife in the late September sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.