Right place, wrong time

I left Parliament  promptly after the 5.00pm Decision Time  , which is sometimes a mistake.   If you leave it till after 6.00 the traffic may have dissipated a bit  but early on it can be a nightmare.   It was even worse than that  this evening and it took me well over an hour to get to Hermiston Gate and the M8.   

But as I  approached Glasgow - after almost two hours on the road - I became mesmerised by the sunset spread across the western horizon  which coloured the sky from pastel blue, through a hint of bruised purple to white , then orange fading into deep red.   

I really wanted to get a picture and I decided not to cross the Erskine Bridge but to keep going and take the ferry, in the hope that there would still be light in the sky by the time I got to Gourock.

There was an amazing orange reflection on the Clyde at Dumbarton but at Gourock all that was left was the  Cowal shore outlined against the last vestiges of the light which would  have been spectacular half an hour earlier.  

By the time I got to Glendaruel it was shrouded in thick mist. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.