Gnarly Roots

I got a parking ticket from the National Trust this morning! They didn't threaten clamping or demand money. In fact it was a very polite note tucked under my wiper which said, "We hope you've enjoyed your time here today. We noticed you didn't buy a ticket to park or were not displaying a valid National Trust Membership sticker."

Well, I was mortified, I looked at my windscreen and noticed it said 2014 on the badge and it didn't seem like 5 minutes since I put it on there! When I got home I searched for the latest book (I've been a member for hundreds of years) but couldn't find it anywhere. I found the membership cards and when I tasked Lady Marian with the job she located the book which sure enough had the 2015 sticker in there. The renewal must have arrived when we were in New Zealand. It's in place on the windscreen now so I can hold my head up again. 

Funny enough it was the Parke Estate that I was visiting. I go in there fairly often. It's not too far from home and it has lovely walks down the River Bovey. It was lovely there today, the sun was shining warmly through the trees and creating lots of dappled light as you can see in my blip. There are a couple more on Flickr if you'd like to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.